From time to time your customers may wish to revert changes they have made to their demo site. Rather than having to register for a new demo site, Easy Plugin Demo provides the ability for customers to reset their demo.
Before we go into further detail, it’s important to note the following;
- A demo site can only be reset by the user who originally registered, or a Super Admin user
- A demo reset maintains the original expiration date
- After being reset, the site will have an updated site ID
- All custom data (pages, posts, settings, menus, users etc.) will be erased during a reset
- Following a reset, the demo site is restored to its original state
- If the Allow Site Reset? option is not enabled, only a Super Admin can reset a site
Which sites can be reset?
The primary network site (obviously) cannot be reset. Additionally, Clone Masters and sites defined as to be cloned within a Demo Template cannot be reset. Cloning and Demo Templates require the Premium Pack extension.
Resetting a demo site
When accessing a demo site’s dashboard, the site can be reset either via the WordPress Settings menu (select the Reset Demo option), or by selecting the Reset option displayed on the WordPress admin toolbar.
Note that is these options are not available on the site you are viewing, it is due to the site being defined as either a clone master, or as a clone site from a demo template.
Clicking either of these links will take you to a confirmation page which states the data that will be erased. You will need to enable the checkbox asking you to confirm that you wish to reset the demo, and then click the Reset my Demo button.
Once the reset has completed, a confirmation page will be displayed.